Westerners International Awards

Each year Westerners International conducts an award and scholarship program. The winners are announced at the annual Westerners International Reception and Book Auction at the fall meeting of the Western History Association. Unless otherwise noted, awards are given in each category for First, Second and Third place. The deadline for the entries is always April 30th. Forms are sent to the member groups in January. To enter you must be a member of Westerners during the year of competition.

The Co-Founders "Best Book" Award
This award recognizes the best non-fiction book written by a Westerner concerning some aspect of the American West.

The "Coke" Wood Award

In cooperation with the E Clampus Vitus chapters in the San Francisco area, this award, honoring the late Coke Wood, goes to the best published monograph or article dealing with Western American history based on individual research, personal knowledge, or family records. The monograph or article can be published by a university or commercial press, a historical society, the author, or a corral or posse.

The Philip A. Danielson Award
The Danielson Award is given for the best presentation or program delivered to a corral or posse during the year by a member of Westerners. This award encourages members to do research or otherwise prepare a program and then share their interest and knowledge with fellow Westerners.

The Heads Up Awards
In this category, three separate awards are given. One to corrals or posses formed before 1973, one to a corral or posse organized in 1973 or later and one to a foreign corral. Judging is on programs, membership, publications, activities, community contributions.

The Fred Olds Poetry Award
This award recognizes outstanding contemporary cowboy poetry in the tradition of Badger Clark, S. Omar Barker, and other great western poets, sponsored by Indian Territory Posse of Oklahoma Westerners. Two places are awarded.

Westerners International Scholarship Award
One $1,000 award is given to a graduate student member of Phi Alpha Theta for the Best Doctoral Dissertation in Western History. The annual award is presented at the Phi Alpha Theta Luncheon during the WHA fall meeting.

A scholarship award of $1,000 goes to a student member of a Westerners corral or posse, which is under the sponsorship of an institute of higher learning. Selection is based on both leadership and scholarship.

Annual Awards