Corrals & Posses

2015 Award Winners

Co-Founders “Best Book” Award
Chuck Parsons & Jack DeMattos
English Westerners Society
The Notorious Luke Short: Sporting Man of the Wild West
University of North Texas Press

2nd Place
Rose Marie Beebe & Robert M. Senkewicz
San Francisco Corral, San Francisco, California
Junipero Serra: California, Indians, and the Transformation of a Missionary
University of Oklahoma Press

3rd Place
Geraldine Knatz
Los Angeles Corral, Los Angeles, California
Terminal Island: Lost Communities of Los Angeles Harbor
Angel City Press

Coke Wood Award for Monographs & Articles
1st Place
James E. Potter
Omaha Corral, Omaha, Nebraska
“Thomas B. Hord: From the Open Range to ‘The Largest Live Stock Feeding Enterprise in the United States’”

2nd Place
Amy L. McKinney
Pahaska Corral, Cody, Wyoming
“There When We Need Them”

3rd Place
Brian Dervin Dillon & David Erin Dillon
Los Angeles Corral, Los Angeles, California
“Wyatt and Josie Earp: Fact, Fiction, and Myth”

Philip A. Danielson Award for Best Programs
1st Place
Michael J. Ober
Northwest Montana Posse, Kalispell, Montana
“Historic Photos from Glacier Park’s Black & White Days”

2nd Place
Doug Hocking
Cochise County Corral, Bisbee, Arizona
“The Black Legend of Lieutenant George Bascom”

3rd Place
Vern Erickson
Fort Abraham Lincoln Corral, Bismarck, North Dakota
“Historic Music”

Fred Olds Western Poetry Award
1st Place
Bernice Landers
Jedidiah Smith Corral, Hot Springs, South Dakota
“The Prolapse”

2nd Place
Abraham Hoffman
Los Angeles Corral, Los Angeles, California
“Riding Away from the Streets of Laredo”
“Chasing After Dan”

Heads Up Award
Small Corrals
Jedediah Smith Corral, Hot Springs, South Dakota
Bernice Landers, Sheriff

Large Corrals
Utah Westerners, Salt Lake City, Utah
Steve Gallenson, Sheriff

Overseas Corrals
English Westerners Society, London, England
Francis Taunton, Sheriff

Westerners University Chapter Scholarship Award for Academic & Leadership Excellence
Eric Carnes
Triple R Corral
Northwestern Oklahoma State University, Alva, Oklahoma
Shawn Holliday, PhD, University Corral Sponsor

2022 Award Winners

2021 Award Winners

2020 Award Winners

2019 Award Winners

2018 Award Winners

2017 Award Winners

2016 Award Winners

2015 Award Winners

2014 Award Winners

2013 Award Winners

2012 Award Winners

2011 Award Winners

2010 Award Winners

2009 Award Winners

2008 Award Winners

2007 Award Winners

2006 Award Winners

2005 Award Winners

2004 Award Winners