Corrals & Posses

(Awarded in 2022)

Co-Founders Best Book Award

First Place
Brian Dervin Dillon, ed
Aloha, Amigos!
Los Angeles Corral

Second Place
George W. T. Beck, Jeremy Johnston, and Lynn Houze, ed.
Beckoning Frontiers: The Memoir of a Wyoming Entrepreneur
Pahaska Corral

Third Place (tie)
Jeff Broome
Indian Raids and Massacres: Essays on the Central Plains Indian Wars
Denver Posse

Third Place (tie)
John Fraley
Heroes of the Bob Marshall Wilderness
Northwest Montana Posse of Westerners

“Coke” Wood Award for Historical Monograph or Published Article

First Place
Chuck Lanehart
“Custer, Captive Girls, and the Cheyenne on Sweetwater Creek”
Lubbock Avalanche Journal
Llano Estacado Corral

Second Place
Richard Sola
“All Roads Lead to Power City”
The Pacific Northwesterner
Spokane Corral

Third Place
John H. Monnett
“Contested Lands and the Struggle for the Powder River Country, 1856-1866”
Journal of the West
Denver Posse

Phillip A. Danlelson Award for Best Presentation or Program
(award goes to the hosting corral or posse)

First Place
Cochise County Corral
Program: Jonathon Donahue, “The Paintings of George Catlin”

Second Place
Tucson Corral
Program: Bernd Brand, “Juh – The Last Chiricahua War Chief of the Free Apaches”

Heads Up Award
Large Corral

Cochise County Corral
Doug Hocking, Sheriff

Heads Up Award
Smaller Corral

Spokane Corral
Dick Jensen, Sheriff

Fred Olds Award for Cowboy Poetry

First Place
Tim Heflin
“Round-Heeled Women,” and “The Saga of Hank Vaughan (1849-1893)
Cowboy Poetry Keepsake 51
Los Angeles Corral

Second Place
Gary Turner
“Ode to Toilet Paper,” “Wash My Hands,” and “The Last Card”
Cowboy Poetry Keepsake 51
Los Angeles Corral

Third Place
Ron Wilson
“Sister Mary Alphonsa Thompson,” “Multi-Tool,” and “Sunrise in the Flint Hills”
from Live at the Lazy T Ranch
Kansas Corral

2022 Award Winners

2021 Award Winners

2020 Award Winners

2019 Award Winners

2018 Award Winners

2017 Award Winners

2016 Award Winners

2015 Award Winners

2014 Award Winners

2013 Award Winners

2012 Award Winners

2011 Award Winners

2010 Award Winners

2009 Award Winners

2008 Award Winners

2007 Award Winners

2006 Award Winners

2005 Award Winners

2004 Award Winners